The ECIP website is now closed, but don't worry, you can find us on NHS Improvement's improvement hub.


The improvement hub lets you search hundreds of improvement resources - you can even share your own. You can also collaborate and explore your ideas with colleagues on the discussion board.


The final day to access is Friday 24th March 2017, after this date the site will be available through the national archive.




ECIP is focused on helping the urgent and emergency care systems across England that are under the most pressure to deliver real improvements in quality, safety and patient flow.

The first cohort of ECIP systems were divided into four clusters, created to match similar systems across the country and make best use of experiences in both rural and urban settings:

  • Cluster 1: Stoke & Staffordshire, Shropshire, North Northamptonshire & Corby, Coventry & Rugby, Worcestershire, Birmingham & Solihull, Wirral.
  • Cluster 2: Lincolnshire, Hull & East Riding, North Cumbria, York & Scarborough, Wakefield & North Kirklees, Kernow.
  • Cluster 3: Kingston, Bromley Lambeth & Southwark, Wandsworth Sutton & Merton, Cambridge & Ely, Portsmouth & South East Hampshire, Western Devon, North Somerset and Medway.
  • Cluster 4: Tower Hamlets Waltham Forest & Newham, Brent & Harrow, Mid Essex, Herts Valley & West Herts, North East Essex, Brighton & Hove, East Kent.

The second ECIP systems have been divided by region:

  • North: Pennine, Warrington and Halton, St Helens and Knowsley, Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen. Aintree University Hospitals, Southport and Ormskirk, County Durham and Darlington., and Stockport
  • Midlands & East:Peterborough and Stamford, Nottingham, Leicester, East and North Hertfordshire, Princess Alexandra Hospital, and Norfolk and Norwich 
  • London: North Middlesex, Barking, Havering and Redbridge, Lewisham and Greenwich, London North West, Barts, Whittington, Croydon and Hillingdon
  • South:North Bristol, Hampshire, Dartford & Gravesham, East Sussex and Surrey